The Software drives me crazy

Pixopax

The Software drives me crazy

Post by Pixopax »

To be honest: As a software developer I must say: This Software is a real piece of crap.
Sorry for the hard words, but it is chaotic, unstable and has so much errors, that I stopped counting them. Every error leads to a hard crash, which is insane.
I cannot understand how someone here is able to place a board with it!

I tried the official version, which does not place my components reliable, also crashes very often. It lacks Error handling almost completely, I could hardly find anything like a descent error handling. ALso, the needed Buttons are somewhere on the window, cameras are not visible at work, switching cams is not working reliable etc. etc.

The rmod4-version is a bit more stable, except that it also randomly crashes, sometimes when I try to jog an axis, sometimes when I select a value from the tape orientation.
Select a part and select "place it", boom, restart please. Here no error handling too. Restart camers? Crash, unhandled exception. Go to next Component...unhandles exception. Wow, really, that is not something you should get to users.

Buttons have wrong hint texts, there is almost no documentation, everything is trial and error.
What also really really sucks is tinyGs reset policy, as soon as you hit a switch, it is game over, restart everything. :evil: That is not how cnc machines are supposed to work! I built 4 cnc mills and a cnc lathe, and no, I know what I am talking about.
Also, the software is not able to recover from a tinyg reset, sometimes it starts moving after a reconnect, which I can only stop via a new reset. Sometimes, jogging does not work after reconnect. Sometimes it just starts moving from itself.
I deeply regret that I started this project, really. I don't think this is a machine which is usable for someone who really wants to place parts. For playing around, yes, but not for real work.