"centering" moves after pickup from tapes?

fcawth

"centering" moves after pickup from tapes?

Post by fcawth »

I have been using liteplacer for a couple of years now, and it seems like a lot of the error sometimes come from the parts being at different places in the tape pockets. Has there ever been any thought to lifting the part partially out of the tape hole, then moving it diagonal back and forth and then back to the center of the tape hole to center it? You might need to have the centering move sizes set into each tape since the tape pockets vary in size, but you could probably have a rectangle or two in the vision setup to just match to the tape size and part size or something. How hard would it be to add x and y centering move sizes to the tape setups (defaulting to zero). It could then pick up the part, move just a small amount up in Z, then do the centering moves in X and Y both ways, then back to the "center" and then lift the rest of the way out. This seems like it would work at least for chip components.

BTW I have a set of 14 panasonic panasert ratcheting feeders integrated into my liteplacer (I'm soon going to expand to about 20). I made an arm off the Z extrusion with a bearing on it to push against the feeder lever, and it works just fine without modification to the liteplacer software. I feel like it flexes slightly in Y when pushing the lever, but the Z motor is definitely strong enough to advance the feeder and the Z travel is just about perfect to properly advance the feeder.